Convention blog #2

Today in class we were asked to watch three film openings and see if we saw the conventions we thought our genre would have. The three film openings I picked to watch were To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Kissing Booth, and When We First Met. I noticed that all the movies started out with really happy scenes. Which is something I expected to see in a film of that genre. All of the openings also had the happy non-diegetic sound that I expected. All of the film openings had the costumes on that I thought they would. However one film opening had formal clothes and the others had casual. The thing the movies had that I didn’t think about for conventions was flash backs to hint to what was coming next and giving background on the characters. Looking at all the conventions in those three film openings made me get ideas on the conventions I wanted in my groups film opening. I want it to have happy non-diegetic music and I want to use a flash back or something of that sort so you get to know the characters.

 

 

Leave a comment